Emergency Communications Training

Emergency Management Institute Mission:

To support the Department of Homeland Security and FEMA’s goals by improving the competencies of the U.S. officials in Emergency Management at all levels of government to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate the potential effects of all types of disasters and emergencies on the American people.

EMI is the emergency management community’s flagship training institution, and provides training to Federal, State, local, tribal, volunteer, public, and private sector officials to strengthen emergency management core competencies for professional, career-long training.

EMI directly supports the implementation of the National Incident Management System (NIMS), the National Response Framework (NRF), the National Disaster Recovery Framework (NDRF), and the National Preparedness Goal (NPG) by conveying necessary knowledge and skills to improve the nation’s capability.

ARES members who expect to respond to an emergency or disaster situation should obtain training that covers the Incident Command System (ICS), the National Incident Management System (NIMS), and the National Response Framework (NRF). This training is offered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency Emergency Management – Independent Study Program (FEMA EMI ISP). These self-paced courses are designed for people who have emergency management responsibilities and are offered free-of-charge to those who qualify for enrollment.

At a minimum, ARES members must complete the following THREE courses:

IS-100.b  Introduction to Incident Command System, ICS-100 (3 hours)
IS-700.a      National Incident Management System (NIMS) An Introduction (3 hours)
IS-800.b National Response Framework, An Introduction (3 hours)
How to apply for a FEMA Independent Study course (Online Course)
  • Register for a Student Identification Number (SID) if you have not done so already. How do I obtain my FEMA SID?
  • Select a course from our course list.
  • Review course materials by choosing any one of the options.
  • Select the “Take Final Exam Online” link (found on each Course Overview page).
  • Enter your SID and your additional Student Information.
  • Answer the exam questions and submit your answer choices.

You will be provided a certificate upon successful completion. Please provide a copy to your ARES EC.

EmComm Training

Basic Message Handling

Skywarn Training