The Benton County Amateur Radio Emergency Service is an organization of volunteer amateur radio operators dedicated to serving Benton County and the west-central Missouri area, also known as District A with emergency and public service communications. Benton County ARES is affiliated with the Amateur Radio Emergency Service (ARES) of the American Radio Relay League (ARRL).

The Benton County ARES Emergency Coordinator (EC) is responsible for directing the efforts of the organization and maintaining relationships with our served agencies.

  • Rick Wade (KDØCNC)  Benton County EC

Assistant Emergency Coordinators (AEC) are appointed by the EC to coordinate sub-organizations within Benton County ARES.

  • Marvin Behnke  (KDØMLB)  Assistant EC – Warsaw
  • Michael Schley (KBØLW)    Assistant EC – Clinton
  • Rick Harkins     (WØYGH)  Assistant EC – Lee’s Summit

What Is Amateur Radio Emergency Service® (ARES)?

The Amateur Radio Emergency Service® (ARES) consists of licensed amateurs who have voluntarily registered their qualifications and equipment, with their local ARES leadership, for communications duty in the public service when disaster strikes.

ARES Membership Requirements

Every licensed amateur regardless of membership in ARRL or any other local or national organization is eligible to apply for membership in ARES.  Training is required to participate fully in ARES.  Benton County ARES can help you complete the required FEMA courses.  Because ARES is an Amateur Radio program, only licensed radio amateurs are eligible for membership. The possession of emergency-powered equipment is desirable but is not a requirement for membership.

20130608_112223 (Medium)
Original exterior of the Emergency Communication trailer

20130608_112318 (Medium)
Interior of the Emergency Communication trailer

New paint job for the Emergency Communication trailer